Grey – Tony Abbott

I like to think of myself as a political moderate, (excepting some of my social liberalism) I listen to many political parties. And I have no particular affiliation though I have never liked the Liberal (actually moderate conservative party) of Australia’s policies. I want to give this context to my very bold statement that Tony Abbott is an asshat, and I think the Australian public was either having a mental episode or hated the Labor party so blindly they didn’t even look at who Tony Abbott was when voting for the liberal party.

I’m not a big follower of politics in general so to form this post I am going to use some of his quotes and have a talk about them, this will not all technically be queer related, just a bit of context for the moment. Okay so I’m sourcing my quotes from wikiquote and then reading their source material to gain context,
If we’re honest, most of us would accept that a bad boss is a little bit like a bad father or a bad husband  Not withstanding all his or her faults, you find that he tends to do more good than harm. He might be a bad boss but at least he’s employing someone while he is in fact a boss.
Quoted in “Tony Abbott under fire” on abc.net.au, July 22, 2002.
 
nb. the struck through text was not included in the original wikiquote.
The first thing that struck me about this quote was referring to a boss using patriarchal figures (the father and husband). I disagree with the point entirely as I have had people in positions of power over me who were not doing me more good than harm. They scared me, filled me with lies and did not respect or understand me, and the presumption that everyone intends good, or that offering employment is inherently a sign that one is doing more harm that good is nonsensical.
There are three quotes from the source text that sum this up:
 
CARMEN LAWRENCE: I was very upset by the comparison he made with bad fatherhood or being a bad husband. Basically that you put with their faults because on balance you think they’re going to do more good than harm.
Well that’s not very good advice to someone if they’re in a bad relationship, for instance where there’s violence involved or abuse involved
GREG COMBET: Tony Abbott is supposed to even handedly look after the interests of employers and employees but now he’s saying no matter what an employer does, they’re to be forgiven and it’s okay.
It’s outrageous and he should apologise.
ROSS SOLLY: AM contacted Tony Abbott this morning. He wouldn’t be interviewed, saying his comments have been misinterpreted and that he was only referring to the problems associated with tying business up in red tape. He did say sometimes one uses metaphors which are less apt.
Let us continue
I won’t be rushing out to get my daughters vaccinated [for cervical cancer], maybe that’s because I’m a cruel, callow, callous, heartless bastard but, look, I won’t be
Quoted in “I could be seen as ‘cruel’ on Gardasil: Abbott”Australian (09 November 2006)
 
This quote is in regards to the Gardasil vaccine being added to the PBS effectively making if free for women between the ages of 12 and 26. Abbott went on to claim that this is the opinion of experts, and its not seen as 100% necessary. Now I’m not sure who these “experts” are and I urge you to watch this video by Dr Aaron Carroll.
As this video was made after abbots quote it adds some modern context. Here are some statistics from the video:
when the vaccine was introduced 11.5% of women between the ages of 14-19 had HPV, 3 years later the prevalence was half that at 5.1% and only a third of girls in that age group had been vaccinated. According to Carroll “if we had done better 50 000 girls alive today would not get cervical cancer in their lifetimes if we got that number to 80% (vaccinated)” and the vaccine is safe.
So yea, that seems a bit cruel callous and heartless to me.
This last quote is not from wikiquote as it has not been updated to include quotes from 2014.
I’m going to give this quote a lot of context and there is a link here to even more

“There’s a lot of gay people in our school. I have a lot of gay friends. And it’s really sad that they can’t get married just because they’re attracted to the same sex.”

Cue more loud cheers and applause from the class.

“I’m getting a clear message, alright,” replied a defeated Abbott, keen to wrap this one up.

“Alright, OK,” he concluded, holding his hand out to a male classmate.

“Let’s have a bloke’s question, OK?”

One of my first thoughts regarding this is maybe he just wanted to indicate a male student after talking with a female student, but even though will full context this does seem the case, based on his treatment of womens issues I wonder if Abbott does think that LGBT issues are not mens issues. Thats a bit of hyperbole, but half of what Tony Abbott says doesn’t make sense to me anyway. He has no answer to why not everyone can marry, yet he still stonewalls a continence vote, and I know referendums cost money, but why not have one of those, people in favour of equal marriage will be happy, and he wont be forced to change his opinion.
Urg, I have no words,  I have lost the words
here take this
Leave a Reply

